NUT Brief History

NUT History:

What is today known and called Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT) was founded in July 1931 by the amalgamation of the first two (2) teachers Associations in Nigeria, namely, Lagos Union of Teachers (LUT), formed in 1925 with its founding President as Rev. Canon J.O. Lucas and the Association of Headmasters of Ijebu Schools (AHIS), led by Rev. I.O. Ransome Kuti, formed in 1926. At an inaugural meeting of the two (2) groups held at CMS Grammar School, Lagos on 8th and 9th July, 1931, a Constitution was drafted and ratified and the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT) was officially launched after accommodating other Teachers’ Associations from Agege, Ibadan and Abeokuta.
The following officers were elected at the inaugural meeting:-
Rev. Isreal Oladotun Ransome Kuti    – National President
Arch. Deacon J.O. Lucas                   – National Vice President
Mr. T.K. Cameron                            – Honorary General Secondary
These three (3) officers became the first pillars of the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT). Other key members at the inaugural meeting were Rev. Emmanuel O. Alayande, Rev. Seth I. Kale, Mr. E.N.E. Nkumo and Mr. T.J.O. Sanyade who was the protem Secretary at the inaugural meeting.
Subsequent consolidatory meetings were attended by other prominent Mission and Government teachers across the country.The Nigeria Union of Teachers(NUT) became firmly rooted in the Western and Eastern regions with branches dotting parts of the North in towns such as Sokoto, Kano, Funtua, Minna, Jos, Bukuru, Kafanchan, Maiduguri, Makurdi, Agyaragu, Ilorin, Lokoja, Kabba, Bassa, Offa, Igbomina, Yagba, Otukpo, Jebba and Idah.
This followership from the North gave rise to the Northern Teachers Association founded in March 1948 through the initiative of the late Alhaji Aminu Kano and registered as a Trade Union on 31st March, 1951 and the following officers emerged:-
Shetima Shehu Ajiram                                – President
Mallam Abubakar Tafawa Balewa              – 1st Vice President
Mallam Aminu Kano                                    – General Secretary
Mallam Abdurahman Mera                         – Asst. General Secretary
With the creation of States in 1966, the structure of the NUT was re-adjusted to reflect the different States in Nigeria in place of the former regional structure and to achieve a truly National status of Teachers Union in Nigeria, the leaders had a meeting of minds for the merger of the NUT and the Northern Teachers’ Association which later became the Northern States Teachers’ Union (NSTU) with the creation of States that split the North into six (6) States in 1966.
On 27th May, 1972 the merger of the NUT and the NSTU was accomplished in Kaduna at the NNA School on Muri Road. An official agreement was signed by the parties under the Chairmanship of the Director, Institute of Education, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Dr. (later Professor) A.F. Ogunsola.
With the creation of more States in the country, NUT has thirty six (36) State Wings and FCT Abuja Wing, all with full-time Secretaries and complementary staff, with seven hundred and seventy four (774) Local Government Area branches all over the country.

i. To foster unity and progress among all teachers in Nigeria.
ii. To foster the spirit of active co-operation and comradeship between teachers and other workers.
iii. To raise the status of the teaching profession through improved quality of education and conditions of service.
iv. To promote and advance the course of education and the teaching profession throughout the federation and also endeavor to secure the removal of difficulties, abuses, anomalies and obsolete regulations detrimental to progress.
v. To enhance the social and economic well-being of members and establish welfare funds for the benefit of members of the Union.
vi. To provide a forum for the co-operation of teachers and the promotion of their welfare, the interest of education and the teaching profession.
vii. To promote the corporate image of the Union both nationally and internationally by ensuring the continued existence of a strong, virile and well articulated organization.
viii. To give leadership and stimulate interest in matters which foster national and international unity and understanding.