Co-op. Brief History

The Article 19(e) (ii) of NUT Constitution 2010 as mandated all the state wing of NUT to establish Co-operative Society in their respective states thereby enhancing the socio-economic status of its members.

Consequent upon the above a Co-operative Officer in the name Dauda Bama Yusuf was appointed in January, 2010 to establish Cooperative Department of NUT FCT Wing and soon after his resumption he with the unions’ Trustees(Com. Hassan Jibir-Chairman, late: Adams N. Zakari-Secretary and Bala Mangtu-Treasurer) under Com. Hassan Jibir Administration swung into action and came up with a bye-laws which was deliberated upon by Both State Wing Standing Committee (SWSC) and State wing Executive Council (SWEC) severally which was eventually ratified by the SWEC.

In the light of the above FCT Wing of the Union established a welfare scheme named:

NUT-FCT WING MULTIPURPOSE COOPERATIVE SOCIETY LTD, ABUJA in the year 2010 but commenced operation in January, 2011 with fourteen (14) pioneer members mainly staff that started it to serves as a litmus test before FCT Teachers joined in 2012.

Pioneer trustees and other members of management were:

  1. Chairman   Adamu D. Adamu.
  2. Secretary   Dauda Bama Yusuf.
  3. Treasurer   Muhammed Raji-Ademola.

Nine (9) NUT Branch Representatives namely:

  1. Sanusi A. Ismaila              Abaji Branch Rep.
  2. Omolaye Victor                 Bwari Branch Rep.
  3. Kunle Salawu Jibril            Gwagwalada Branch Rep.
  4. Apollo Mela Sam               Karshi Branch Rep.
  5. Omoniyi M. Abdulmajeed   Kuje Branch Rep.
  6. Austin C. Cole                   Kwali Branch Rep.
  7. Reuben Agasa                   Municipal Branch Rep.
  8. Onwukwe Stephen             Rubochi Branch Rep.
  9. Banda Jande Victoria         Yaba Branch Rep.

The Cooperative was incorporated by the Registrar of Cooperatives FCT, Abuja on the 11th July 2011 with Registration number 15659.